An initiative of the American Library Association

Instagram Book Recommendations from SJP in 2017

While you're waiting for Sarah Jessica Parker's next official Book Club Central pick, here are just some of the books she recommended on her Instagram in 2017. Enjoy!

9781101970348

The Nix

by Nathan Hill

From the suburban Midwest to New York City to the 1968 riots that rocked Chicago and beyond, The Nix explores—with sharp humor and a fierce tenderness—the resilience of love and home, even in times of radical change.

Knopf, 2016.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Reading Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

See The Nix on SJP's Instagram.

the-antiques-9781501138980_lg

The Antiques

by Kris D'Agostino

A family reunites after the death of its patriarch just as a hurricane tears through town in this “sparklingly funny novel about love, power, money, and adult siblings finding the beating heart of what matters most: one another” (People).

Scribner, 2017.

Click for a Reading Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

See The Antiques on SJP's Instagram.

163560

Commonwealth

by Ann Patchett

The acclaimed, bestselling author—winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Orange Prize—tells the enthralling story of how an unexpected romantic encounter irrevocably changes two families' lives. Told with equal measures of humor and heartbreak, Commonwealth is a meditation on inspiration, interpretation, and the ownership of stories. It is a brilliant and tender tale of the far-reaching ties of love and responsibility that bind us together.

Harper, 2016.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to an Excerpt of the Audiobook.

Click for a Reading Guide.

Click for an Author Interview.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

See Commonwealth on SJP's Instagram.

9780385474542

Things Fall Apart

by Chinua Achebe

With more than 20 million copies sold and translated into fifty-seven languages, Things Fall Apart provides one of the most illuminating and permanent monuments to African experience. Achebe does not only capture life in a pre-colonial African village, he conveys the tragedy of the loss of that world while broadening our understanding of our contemporary realities.

Penguin Reprint, 1994; Originally published in 1958

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Reading Guide.

See Things Fall Apart on SJP's Instagram.

168241

Letterman: The Last Giant of Late Night

by Jason Zinoman

New York Times comedy critic Jason Zinoman delivers the definitive story of the life and artistic legacy of David Letterman, the greatest television talk show host of all time and the signature comedic voice of a generation.

Harper, 2017.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Listen to an Excerpt of the Audiobook.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

See Letterman on SJP's Instagram.

9780812996937

The Rules Do Not Apply

by Ariel Levy

In this “deeply human and deeply moving” (The New York Times Book Review) memoir, Ariel Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being, in her own words, “a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses.” Her story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed—and of what is eternal.

Random House, 2017.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Reading Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

See The Rules Do Not Apply on SJP's Instagram.

9780451494481

Hourglass: Time, Memory, Marriage

by Dani Shapiro

The bestselling novelist and memoirist delivers her most intimate and powerful work: a piercing, life-affirming memoir about marriage and memory, about the frailty and elasticity of our most essential bonds, and about the accretion, over time, of both sorrow and love.

Knopf, 2017.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Reading Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

See Hourglass on SJP's Instagram.

cover_9781609453275_1035_600

Sergio Y.

by Alexandre Vidal Porto

A startling and inspirational work of transgender fiction by a leading figure in Brazil's "New Urban" fiction movement. Sergio Y. is a unique and moving story about gender, identity, and the search for happiness.

Europa, 2016.

See Sergio Y. on SJP's Instagram.

9780374203108

Sourdough

by Robin Sloan

In his much-anticipated new novel, Robin Sloan does for the world of food what he did for the world of books in Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. Leavened by the same infectious intelligence that made his last novel such a sensation, while taking on even more satisfying challenges, Sourdough marks the triumphant return of a unique and beloved young writer.

Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2017.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

See Sourdough on SJP's Instagram.

9781101904282

Dunbar

by Edward St. Aubyn

A reimagining of King Lear, one of Shakespeare’s most well-read tragedies, by the contemporary, critcally acclaimed master of domestic drama.

Hogarth, 2017.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

See Dunbar on SJP's Instagram.

y648 (7)

The Woman in the Window

by A. J. Finn

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

William Morrow, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

See The Woman in the Window on SJP's Instagram.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER