An initiative of the American Library Association

The May 2018 LibraryReads List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

Furyborn-blog-196x300

Furyborn

by Claire Legrand

“Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and The Hunger Games.” --Kristin Friberg, Princeton Library, Princeton, NJ

Sourcebooks Fire, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

OtherLadyVanishes-blog-196x300

The Other Lady Vanishes

by Amanda Quick

“Historical romantic suspense. Who would suspect that the quiet California seaside tea shop waitress is actually an escaped mental patient? The second book in Quick’s Burning Cove series has the same 1930s vibe and glamorous, gossipy Hollywood ambiance as The Girl Who Knew Too Much.” --Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY

Berkley, 2018.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

the-death-of-mrs-westaway-blog-196x300

The Death of Mrs. Westaway

by Ruth Ware

“Ware’s best book by far. I finally stopped trying to puzzle it out and just sat back to enjoy the ride.” --Susanne Guide, Union County Public Library, Liberty, IN

Gallery/Scout Press, 2018.

PerfectMother-blog-196x300

The Perfect Mother

by Aimee Molloy

“A frank look at mommy culture wrapped in an original twist on the suburban, psychological thriller.” --Jennifer Winberry, Hunterdon County Library, Flemington, NJ

Harper, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

LoveandRuin-blog-196x300

Love and Ruin

by Paula McLain

“Biographical and historical fiction. Another fascinating Hemingway wife from McLain who always writes interesting women and great period detail.” --Elizabeth Angelastro, Manilus Library, Manilus, NY

Ballantine, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

TinMan-blog-196x300

Tin Man

by Sarah Winman

“A beautifully written story of love, loss, grief, friendship, and acceptance. The story winds in and out of time in a figure eight like waves reaching shore and receding again.” --Donna Burger, Bryant Library, Roslyn, NY

GP Putnam's Sons, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Discussion Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

OUR-KIND-OF-CRUELTY-blog-196x300

Our Kind of Cruelty

by Araminta Hall

“Disturbing psychological suspense with an unreliable narrator. This is a love story. Or is it? It’s more a story of obsession.” --Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO

MCD, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

PaperGhosts-blog-196x300

Paper Ghosts: A Novel of Suspense

by Julia Heaberlin

“Grace has spent years secretly investigating the disappearance of her older sister. Grace’s prime suspect is Carl Feldman, a photographer, who has been acquitted of the crime and now suffers from dementia. Grace decides that a road trip may jog Carl’s memory.” --Galen Cunniff, Scituate Town Library, Scituate, MA

Ballantine Books, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click for a Discussion Guide.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

the-favorite-sister-blog-196x300

The Favorite Sister

by Jessica Knoll

“Perfect for the reality TV addicted, this book is gossip laden, full of edge, and contains plenty of surprises.” --Sharon Layburn, Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

Simon & Schuster, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

Ensemble-blog-196x300

The Ensemble

by Aja Gabel

“Set against the backdrop of the highly-competitive and merciless world of classical music, this brilliantly written debut is an exquisite portrait of a group friendship spanning decades. Gabel weaves a lyrical tale of four young musician’s journeys and their complex, yet resilient, relationships with each other. For fans of The Interestings, A Little Life, and A Secret History.” --Mayleen Kelley, JV Fletcher Library, Westford MA

Riverhead, 2018.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER