An initiative of the American Library Association

The November 2018 LibraryReads List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the November 2018 LibraryReads list!

And don't miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month's selections were: Elizabeth Berg's Night of Miracles, Lee Child's Past Tense, Louise Penny's Kingdom of the Blind, and Liane Moriarty's Nine Perfect Strangers.

9780385544238

My Sister, the Serial Killer

by Oyinkan Braithwaite

“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.” —Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ

Doubleday, 2018.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

9780525511748

The Adults

by Caroline Hulse

“Divorced couple Claire and Matt devise a terrific idea for Christmas: spend it at Happy Forest Holiday Park with their new partners and their seven-year-old daughter Scarlett (and her imaginary friend). Hilarious and heartrending, this debut novel asks the age-old question: ‘What could possibly go wrong?'” —Todd Krueger, Baltimore County Public Library, Towson, MD

Random House, 2018.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

9780374123697

The Best Bad Things

by Katrina Carrasco

“Alma is a cross-dressing, bisexual, half-Mexican, badass woman who goes undercover in this historical fiction story set in 1887 Washington state. She lives life on the edge with gusto and nerve. An enjoyable ride for readers who like a fast-paced story and don’t mind graphic content.” —Joseph Jones, Cuyahoga County Public Library, Cuyahoga, OH

Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Empire-of-Sand-blog-196x300

Empire of Sand

by Tasha Suri

“A modern take on the classic Disney tale of Mulan, this fantasy-adventure story features Mehr, a governor’s daughter who wants to make a name for herself and is passionate about saving the lives of those in her kingdom. Mehr’s unique magical powers make her a target and give the classic storyline a new twist.” —Megan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Lackawanna, NY

Orbit, 2018.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

9780316491341

How Long ‘Til Black Future Month: Stories

by N. K. Jemisin

“This first short story collection from the most celebrated speculative fiction author of our time features her signature blend of sharply observed, provocative tales of magic steeped in realism and social commentary. Both SFF fans and adventurous readers of genre-blending literary fiction such as Station Eleven and The Underground Railroad will find much to admire.” —Annabelle Mortensen, Skokie Public Library, Skokie, IL

Orbit, 2018.

kinship-blog-196x300

The Kinship of Secrets

by Eugenia Kim

“A sweeping, historical, family saga in which two sisters are separated during the Korean War. One is raised in the United States and the other in South Korea. For fans of Pachinko.” —Cat Ng, Palm Beach County Library System, Wellington, FL

Houhgton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

9781984823014

A Ladder to the Sky

by John Boyne

“Enter the disturbing world of high stakes publishing and meet an author so twisted and unscrupulous you will beg for justice. For readers who like an unlikeable character and sardonic tone.” —Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

Hogarth, 2018.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

Newcomer-blog-196x300

Newcomer

by Keigo Higashino

“Newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kaga is assigned a baffling murder. The story is told almost entirely through the perspective of people he interviews, gradually revealing the puzzling who, how, and why in this mystery. For fans of Sherlock Holmes, Agatha Christie and Columbo as well as lovers of international crime novels.” —Julie Graham, Yakima Valley Libraries, Yakima, WA

Minotaur, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

SomeonetoTrust-blog-196x300

Someone to Trust: A Westcott Novel

by Mary Balogh

“Love defies societal expectations in this historical romance set in the Regency period. For fans of Tessa Dare and Amelia Grey.” —Kathy Setter, Indianhead Federated Library System, Eau Claire, WI

Berkley/Jove, 2018.

Hall of Fame

9780525509509

Night of Miracles

by Elizabeth Berg

“An equally delightful follow-up to The Story of Arthur Truluv. A heartwarming tale of life in a small town with an ensemble cast of likeable characters.” —Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Random House, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

9780399593512

Past Tense: A Jack Reacher Novel

by Lee Child

“Another home run from Child. While visiting his father’s birthplace in New Hampshire, Reacher can’t help but intervene when a member of a local gang attempts to assault a waitress. He soon uncovers more suspicious happenings in the town. Fast-paced, great plot, and compelling characters.” —Laura Scott, Park Ridge Public Library, Park Ridge, IL

Delacorte Press, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Starred Review.

9781250069825

Nine Perfect Strangers

by Liane Moriarty

“Can ten days at a special health resort change you forever? Can you lose weight, gain inner peace, become a better you? Nine people are thrown together at a remote health resort, with intriguing developments.” —Jennifer Ohzourk, St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, MO

Flatiron Books, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

9781250066206

Kingdom of the Blind: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

by Louise Penny

“Gamache tries to understand why someone connected to a mysterious will is killed, while he and Beauvoir race against time to stop a deadly shipment of drugs from hitting the streets. Penny digs deep into her familiar characters in what may be her most personal book.” —David Singleton, Charlotte Mecklenberg Public Library, Charlotte, NC

Minotaur Books, 2018.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER