An initiative of the American Library Association

February Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the February 2019 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list.

This month’s selections were:

silent-patient

The Silent Patient

by Alex Michaelides

“Led on a dark path, readers will quickly guess that there’s more to Alicia’s story than what meets the eye. But the big surprises lie in the deep betrayals and the shock of an ending. Dark, twisted, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Ruth Ware.”

Amy Fellows, Multnomah County Library, Portland, OR

Celadon Books, 2019.

ravenously-hungry-girls

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

by Anissa Gray

“A beautifully written novel told from the viewpoints of three sisters whose dysfunctional childhood has left deep wounds. Family also serves as a source of strength as the women face the damage done and try to heal. For readers who enjoy Tayari Jones and Jesmyn Ward.”

Janine Walsh, East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, NY

Berkley, 2019.

daughter-of-molokai

Daughter of Moloka’i

by Alan Brennert

“Fans of Moloka’i and new readers will adore this interesting, heartfelt sequel. Taken from her parents as an infant, Ruth is adopted by a loving family who experiences more than their fair share of upheaval and heartache balanced with love and joy. Readers of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko may enjoy.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY

St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

finding-dorothy

Finding Dorothy: A Novel

by Elizabeth Letts

“In examining the meeting between Judy Garland and Maud Baum, Letts weaves two narratives: Hollywood in 1938-39, and Baum’s childhood and marriage to L. Frank Baum, author of the book that inspired the movie. A fascinating behind-the-scenes story for Oz fans.”

Lauren McLaughlin, Wilton Library Association, Wilton, CT

Ballantine Books, 2019.

girls-at-17-swann

The Girls at 17 Swann Street: A Novel

by Yara Zgheib

“A mesmerizing glimpse inside a rehab program for victims of anorexia. This fictional account of one young woman’s life-saving journey is eye-opening with its descriptions and statistics. For readers who enjoy fiction about social and psychological issues, and books by Wally Lamb and Chris Bohjalian.”

Marilyn Sieb, L.D. Fargo Library, Lake Mills, WI

St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

good-riddance

Good Riddance

by Elinor Lipman

“An annotated yearbook is an interesting plot device, and Lipman populates it with likable characters that you can’t help but root for and with “villains” so ridiculous that you can’t help but laugh at them. Perfectly paced, engagingly written, and fun. For fans of Adriana Trigiani.”

Lorri Steinbacher, Ridgewood Public Library, Ridgewood, NJ

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.

the-huntress

The Huntress: A Novel

by Kate Quinn

“This is a novel I can happily recommend to patrons who like historical fiction. It excels in both plotting and character development. Nina Markova, a bomber pilot stranded behind enemy lines, becomes the target of a Nazi assassin. For fans of Jackdaws by Ken Follett and Up In Honey’s Room by Elmore Leonard.

Maria Gruener, Watertown Regional Library, Watertown, SD

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019.

kid-gloves

Kid Gloves: Nine Months of Careful Chaos

by Lucy Knisley

“This wonderful graphic novel is also the most honest, comprehensive, revealing, and helpful book on pregnancy, miscarriages, birth, breastfeeding, and everything in between that has ever been written. I wish I had had this book as I was leveled with morning sickness for nine months.”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

First Second, 2019.

the-last-romantics

The Last Romantics: A Novel

by Tara Conklin

“A fresh look at family dynamics, this is the story of four siblings and their love for one another spanning their entire lives. For fans of The Nest by Cynthia D’aprix Sweeny and The Past by Tessa Hadley.”

Jennifer Dayton, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

William Morrow, 2019.

priory-oraange-tree

The Priory of the Orange Tree

by Samantha Shannon

“Brilliant world building; multi-dimensional characters; magic; friendship; plots; secrets; romance; and battles between good and evil…. this book has it all. The best new fantasy I’ve read in years. I eagerly await the next installment. For fans of Naomi Novik.”

Alexa Newman, Algonquin Area Public Library, Algonquin, IL

Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019.

the-lost-man

The Lost Man

by Jane Harper

“When rancher Cameron Bright is found dead in the unforgiving Australian Outback, his older brother Nathan, a social pariah, is left to uncover family secrets and ferret out the mystery of Cameron’s demise. Harper’s tense standalone will captivate her fans and leave them eager for more.”

Lori Hench, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

Flatiron Books, 2019.

owe-you-one

I Owe You One: A Novel

by Sophie Kinsella

“Kinsella is back with a sweet, thoughtful book about family loyalty and breaking out on your own. Fixie Farr is trying to keep her family’s store afloat while her siblings plot expensive plans to modernize. Meanwhile, Fixie is juggling two interested suitors. For readers who love Meg Cabot and Marian Keyes.”

Kathryn Neal, Skiatook Library, Skiatook, OK

The Dial Press, 2019.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER