An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Very British Mystery

By Shari Randall and Marilyn Levinson Who doesn’t love a mystery – especially one with a British setting? These books on our Very British Mystery list represent genres from police procedural to cozy, and settings from the rain slick streets of London to the green hills of the Cotswolds. We’ve invited the authors to tell us…

Read More

Fresh Starts

By Shari Randall The beginning of a new year is a time of fresh starts. If your book club has resolved to add mystery to its mix of reading, look no further. In each of these novels from the writers of Sisters in Crime, characters face challenges and make fresh starts, often in the face of…

Read More

February Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the February 2019 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides “Led on…

Read More
Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

By Annie Bostrom As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories…

Read More

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

By Shari Randall The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and…

Read More

The 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites list! Educated by Tara Westover “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her…

Read More

Top 10 First Novels: 2018

By Donna Seaman Madness, maps, and music; poetry, war, and climate change; family and love in Syria, Iran, South Korea, London, Liberia, and Boston—these elements are found in the finest first novels reviewed in Booklist from November 1, 2017, through October 15, 2018. Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi In her mind-blowing first novel, Emezi portrays Ada,…

Read More

Who’s Hungry for Culinary Mysteries?

By Shari Randall Food and books―the perfect combination! With the holidays on the horizon, why not find some culinary inspiration in these mysteries, all featuring deadly plots and delicious recipes. I’ve asked the authors to tell us a bit about their books below. Happy reading and bon appétit! The Tell-Tale Tarte by Maya Corrigan When café…

Read More

The November 2018 LibraryReads List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the November 2018 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: Elizabeth Berg’s Night of Miracles, Lee Child’s Past…

Read More

#AskaLibrarian Monthly Roundup: October

Every Thursday from 12-1pm ET readers can ask librarians for reading recommendations using #AskaLibrarian. It’s a great way to get new books ideas, and to suggest some of your favorite book club picks, as well. We’ve been joining in the fun by asking librarians for some great book club recommendations. This month, we asked for…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER