An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Things that Go Bump: Paranormal Mysteries

By Shari Randall With its earlier sunsets, cooler temperatures, and pumpkin spice everything, autumn is the perfect time to curl up with a good mystery―especially a mystery with shades of the supernatural. Whether you’re in the mood for a lighthearted ghost story or a leave-the-lights-on tale of suspense, these books will cast a spell on your…

Read More

The October 2018 LibraryReads List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the October 2018 LibraryReads list! And introducing Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. Jodi Picoult’s A Spark of Light is the inaugural selection. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory “A disastrous…

Read More

SJP Read-Alikes: She Would Be King by Wayétu Moore

By Donna Seaman Wayétu Moore and her family fled Monrovia, the capital of Liberia, during the civil war in 1989 when Moore was five, a harrowing rupture that her father sought to ameliorate by telling stories full of magic. In her spellbinding debut novel, She Would Be King​, Moore continues that evocative filtering of life…

Read More

A+ Academic Mysteries

By Shari Randall Ah, September. Many consider this the beginning of the year, with so many returning to school to start the next chapter of their academic journey. What a busy time—especially when you add murder and mystery to the mix. These A+ mysteries will give you a peek inside those hallowed halls of academe, where…

Read More

Campaign Widows by Aimee Agresti

‘Tis the (election) season! Feeling a bit of political fatigue as we head into the 2018 elections? Book Clubbish has the perfect book club kit remedy for you. The West Wing meets Sex and the City in Aimee Agresti’s Campaign Widows [Graydon House], a wickedly sharp, wildly fun take on the Washington landscape. Follow the misadventures of the “widows,” an inner circle of DC elites…

Read More

The September 2018 LibraryReads List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the September 2018 LibraryReads list! The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton “Imagine the movie Groundhog Day except this time Aiden Bishop wakes up each day in a deteriorating manor house, as a different person, and must work out who he is…

Read More

#AskaLibrarian Monthly Roundup: August

Every Thursday from 12-1pm ET readers can ask librarians for reading recommendations using #AskaLibrarian. It’s a great way to get new books ideas, and to suggest some of your favorite book club picks, as well. We’ve been joining in the fun by asking librarians for some great book club recommendations. This month, we asked for…

Read More

Top 10 SciFi/Fantasy: 2018

By Susan Maguire A healthy mix of genre superstars and fresh new voices, and of diverse authors, styles, and characters, means that this year’s 10 best sf/fantasy titles, reviewed in Booklist between August 2017 and July 2018, offer something for everyone. 84K by Claire North When a man discovers that an old friend has been…

Read More

Core Collection: Music in Nonfiction

By Annie Bostrom, Susan Maguire, and Donna Seaman We continue discussing music titles in your core collection that will generate lively conversations and listening sessions with these nonfiction books. Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen In this entertaining autobiography, Springsteen traces his trajectory from working-class New Jerseyan to humble superstardom in prose that recalls his…

Read More

Core Collection: Music in Fiction

By Annie Bostrom, Susan Maguire, and Donna Seaman Music is such a powerful force in our lives, expressing our desires and fears, love and heartache, providing consolation and inspiration. We are also intrigued by musicians and their lives. Because music is a wellspring for writers, it is also an alluring and fruitful subject for book…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER