An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Sisters in Crime: Not the Usual Suspects

By Shari Randall I adore police procedurals and stories of private investigators – the professionals who take down criminals in real life. But in fiction, anyone can be a sleuth. Are you looking for a different kind of crime solver? Sisters in Crime has you covered. I’ve asked these crime writers to introduce us to their…

Read More

April Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the April 2018 LibraryReads list! Lost Roses: A Novel by Martha Hall Kelly “The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and…

Read More

Sisters In Crime: Pets on the Case

Animals and mystery have gone together ever since Sherlock Holmes and the Hound of the Baskervilles. These books from the writers of Sisters in Crime prove that pets can indeed be man’s best friend, especially in the face of murder, crime, and danger. Paw Enforcement by Diane Kelly Officer Luz is lucky she still has…

Read More

Very British Mystery

By Shari Randall and Marilyn Levinson Who doesn’t love a mystery – especially one with a British setting? These books on our Very British Mystery list represent genres from police procedural to cozy, and settings from the rain slick streets of London to the green hills of the Cotswolds. We’ve invited the authors to tell us…

Read More

Fresh Starts

By Shari Randall The beginning of a new year is a time of fresh starts. If your book club has resolved to add mystery to its mix of reading, look no further. In each of these novels from the writers of Sisters in Crime, characters face challenges and make fresh starts, often in the face of…

Read More

February Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the February 2019 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides “Led on…

Read More
Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

By Annie Bostrom As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories…

Read More

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

By Shari Randall The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and…

Read More

The 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites List

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites list! Educated by Tara Westover “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER