An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 2

By Susan Maguire Here is part 2 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist’s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. Dragonfish by Vu…

Read More

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 1

By Susan Maguire Is your book group in a rut? Are folks sick of reading World War II-era historical fiction? Is your attendance dwindling? Maybe it’s time to go rogue. Booklist hosted a live event (sponsored by NoveList) where we gathered some book-group experts to talk about what makes a good selection, how to pick…

Read More

Sleuths in the Stacks

By Shari Randall In honor of National Library Week, April 8-14, we celebrate books with a library connection—either set in libraries or with a librarian detective. Who better to solve a mystery than a librarian? Tech savvy, expert researchers with a broad knowledge base and the world’s information at their fingertips, these librarians follow deviously difficult…

Read More

SJP Read-Alikes: Jonathan Miles’ Anatomy of a Miracle

By Donna Seaman As an intrepid journalist, Jonathan Miles has covered a lively array of topics, including bar fights in rural American taverns, and he authored the “Shaken and Stirred” column for the New York Times. Sharp humor and a worldly-wise perspective shape Miles’ fiction. In his first novel, Dear American Airlines (2008), a failed…

Read More

March Mysteries with an Irish Connection

By Shari Randall In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, these March mysteries each have a connection to the Emerald Isle—books set in Ireland, featuring Irish characters, or their descendants in the US. If you’re in the mood for a mystery to go along with your corned beef and cabbage, try one of these reads—they promise more…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER