An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Booklist’s Top 10 First Novels: 2017

By Donna Seaman The finest first novels reviewed in Booklist over the last 12 months take readers into a climatically and socially dire future and a traumatic past as well as the churning minds of an autistic girl, a reluctant mother, a concerned daughter, an intrepid college freshman, and an undocumented Mexican immigrant. Click for…

Read More

Through a Global Lens: Dazzling Debut Novels from a Woman’s Perspective

By Tracy Crawford Yes, it’s time to celebrate books! Not only is November National Novel Writing Month, but in just a few short days the winners of the National Book Awards will be announced. Several of this year’s selections feature stories and reflections of women from around the world. Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko, The Leavers…

Read More

Great Group Reads 2017

Booklist was proud to once again partner with the Women’s National Book Association for National Reading Group Month. Every October, the WNBA supplies a list of Great Group Reads. The 20 titles on this year’s list have been chosen for their appeal to reading groups by a selection committee of writers, reviewers, librarians, booksellers, publicists, and committed readers. The…

Read More

Happy Halloween from Sisters In Crime

by Shari Randall From cozy to hard-boiled, paranormal to present day, you’ll find the perfect mystery for Halloween reading on this list from the Sisters in Crime. The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry On Halloween night in 1989, three young women were murdered while attempting to consecrate the hanging site of their ancestors executed during…

Read More

Happy Halloween from the Horror Writers Association

By JG Faherty As a horror writer and the director of the Horror Writers Association’s (HWA) Library & Literacy Program, I can name a hundred spine-chilling books off the top of my head. But for book club recommendations, I decided to do a kind of mix-and-match of books from HWA members, to not only showcase the…

Read More

SJP Read-Alikes: Mohsin Hamid’s Exit West

By Donna Seaman Exit West is an exquisite love story that subtly yet powerfully combines searing realism and psychological acuity with a touch of magic to illuminate the terrors of war and exile as well as the miracles of survival. Thoughtful and gentle Saeed and rebellious Nadia enter into a tenuous courtship as their unnamed…

Read More
Screenshot from HBO series The Deuce

Nonfiction Starter Pack: THE DEUCE

By Eugenia Williamson The Deuce premiered on HBO two weeks ahead of schedule. In its first episode, David Simon’s series-length paean to Times Square recreated 70s New York in all its grimy glory, with an ensemble of prostitutes, pimps, gamblers, cops, and James Franco, who plays twins. The show has done nothing to change my opinion that…

Read More
Book covers: A Man Called Ove, Evicted, The Nest, To the Bright Edge of the World, Hidden Figures

Good Books for Book Groups: Bring Your Own Book

by Liz Kirchhoff Every year, area clubs invariably ask us to suggest short books for holiday reading. There are many such titles, of course, but it can be hard, at this time of year, for members to get copies of holiday titles when they need them. But there are ways to work around the holiday crush. Some book clubs in…

Read More
Book covers: No One is Coming to Save Us; Saint Monkey;Li

SJP Read-Alikes: Stephanie Powell Watts’ No One is Coming to Save Us

by Donna Seaman Watts’ debut novel, No One is Coming to Save Us, set in Pinewood, North Carolina, a small town decimated by the closing of formerly thriving furniture factories, is a deep and involving inquiry into family and place, racism and ambition, sorrow and determination. Watts considers what home truly means in this powerfully…

Read More
""

14 Japanese Thrillers in Translation

By Terry Hong Mysteries and thrillers make up a sizable portion of the Japanese literary market. Thanks to the international success of Keigo Higashino, Natsuo Kirino, and Miyuki Miyabe—and, just as importantly, their translators—contemporary Japanese crime fiction proliferates on Western shelves. To follow is a list of both novels and manga (because no one does…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER