An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

January 12, 2018

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Scribner) is a many-faceted historical novel set on New York City’s 1930s and ’40s waterfront and encompassing a family drama; gangsters; innovations at the Brooklyn Naval Yard; a shipwreck in U-boat-infested waters; and the story of an independent, unconventional woman. The insightful and imaginative novels below also set the adventures…

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann

January 11, 2018

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann (Doubleday), immerses readers in a devastating episode in U.S. history in which dozens of members of the Osage Indian Nation were systematically murdered for their oil wealth. Grann is dazzling in his painstaking research and skillfully constructed narrative,…

SJP Read-Alikes: Ayobami Adebayo’s Stay with Me

January 9, 2018

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: The Doomsday Machine by Daniel Ellsberg

January 5, 2018

The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner by Daniel Ellsberg (Bloomsbury), is one of the most alarming books to appear in this altogether alarming time. Ellsberg’s revelations, both personal and professional, uncloak a litany of disregarded protocol, erroneous assumptions, and near misses pertaining to the start of the nuclear arms race, the buildup…

Holiday Mysteries for Your Book Club to Read by the Fire

December 12, 2017

Looking for a holiday themed book club pick? The Sisters in Crime have you covered, from humorous to historical, from coziest cozy to stone cold thriller. Our nine suggestions include a few novellas, because time for reading can be in short supply at this time of the year.  These stories are set during Chanukah, Christmas,…

Booklist’s Top 10 First Novels for Youth: 2017

November 27, 2017

This crop of best first novels showcases diversity in characters, genre, and time periods are perfect for young adult book clubs. Click for More Information. Almost Paradise by Corabel Shofner Life takes a tumble for sassy, sage Ruby when her mother winds up in jail. Forced to live with her aunt, an Episcopalian nun, Ruby…

Booklist’s Top 10 First Novels: 2017

November 20, 2017

The finest first novels reviewed in Booklist over the last 12 months take readers into a climatically and socially dire future and a traumatic past as well as the churning minds of an autistic girl, a reluctant mother, a concerned daughter, an intrepid college freshman, and an undocumented Mexican immigrant. Click for More Information. American…

Through a Global Lens: Dazzling Debut Novels from a Woman’s Perspective

November 13, 2017

Yes, it’s time to celebrate books! Not only is November National Novel Writing Month, but in just a few short days the winners of the National Book Awards will be announced. Several of this year’s selections feature stories and reflections of women from around the world. Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko, The Leavers by Lisa Ko,…

Great Group Reads 2017

November 7, 2017

Booklist was proud to once again partner with the Women’s National Book Association for National Reading Group Month. Every October, the WNBA supplies a list of Great Group Reads. The 20 titles on this year’s list have been chosen for their appeal to reading groups by a selection committee of writers, reviewers, librarians, booksellers, publicists, and committed readers. The…

Happy Halloween from Sisters In Crime

October 31, 2017

From cozy to hard-boiled, paranormal to present day, you’ll find the perfect mystery for Halloween reading on this list from the Sisters in Crime. The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry On Halloween night in 1989, three young women were murdered while attempting to consecrate the hanging site of their ancestors executed during Salem’s witch hysteria…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER