An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Book Club Choices: The Swans of Fifth Avenue by Melanie Benjamin

March 29, 2018

Most people know Truman Capote by his writing—especially In Cold Blood and Breakfast at Tiffany’s. What many may not know is that Capote was quite the darling of high society during the 1950s and 1960s. A diminutive, gay man, Capote seemed to fit in with the women of New York who were married to wealthy…

PLA Highlight: Book Club Central Lunch & Learn

March 28, 2018

At the Public Library Association’s 2018 conference in Philadelphia last week, we hosted a Book Club Central Lunch & Learn with our Sponsoring Partner United for Libraries and Booklist, and Corporate Platinum Partner Penguin Random House. Over two hundred librarians came to hear a panel led by Booklist‘s Donna Seaman that included authors Cristina Alger (The Banker’s…

SJP Read-Alikes: Jonathan Miles’ Anatomy of a Miracle

March 27, 2018

As an intrepid journalist, Jonathan Miles has covered a lively array of topics, including bar fights in rural American taverns, and he authored the “Shaken and Stirred” column for the New York Times. Sharp humor and a worldly-wise perspective shape Miles’ fiction. In his first novel, Dear American Airlines (2008), a failed poet is stranded…

Listen to the Professional Book Nerds Interview with Jonathan Miles!

March 19, 2018

The Professional Book Nerds speak with Jonathan Miles, author of Anatomy of a Miracle, the latest Sarah Jessica Parker Book Club Central Pick. They discuss Jonathan’s writing process, his background as a journalist, and Cleveland! Click to Listen to the Interview.

Watch Jonathan Miles Discuss Anatomy of a Miracle!

March 15, 2018

Booklist‘s Donna Seaman talks to Jonathan Miles, author of Sarah Jessica Parker’s newest pick for Book Club Central, about the humor in his writing, how journalism influenced his novel, and more! Watch below.  

Book Club Choices: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

March 8, 2018

Fifteen years ago, Jason and Daniela made a choice. Daniela, on her way to super stardom in the art world, meets Jason, a world renowned physicist who is working on a project that just might make it possible to travel through space and time. Daniela becomes accidentally pregnant. So . . . do they keep…

2018 Reading List: The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson

March 7, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson (William Morrow, 2017) was selected as the winner of the Women’s Fiction category. In The Almost Sisters, Geeky Leia is pregnant after…

March Mysteries with an Irish Connection

March 6, 2018

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, these March mysteries each have a connection to the Emerald Isle—books set in Ireland, featuring Irish characters, or their descendants in the US. If you’re in the mood for a mystery to go along with your corned beef and cabbage, try one of these reads—they promise more twists and…

2018 Reading List: The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi

March 5, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi (Tor, 2017) was selected as the winner of the Science Fiction category. In the Interdependency, each planet relies on its far-flung neighbors…

2018 Reading List: An Extraordinary Union by Alyssa Cole

March 2, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers.

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER