An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

March Picks from LibraryReads

February 28, 2019

Librarians around the country have voted these titles as the March 2019

Book Club Choices: The Dakota Winters by Tom Barbash

February 22, 2019

Back when I was young – maybe high school? maybe college? – I was in a literature class, and we were reading something by Jonathan Swift. As some of you reading this may be aware, trying to think back 30 years or more to what happened in a high school or college class is about…

Book Club Choices: More Than Words by Jill Santopolo

February 22, 2019

Do you remember when you first learned your parents were flawed, and the impact that discovery had on your life? In More Than Words, Jill Santopolo tackles just this issue. The story follows Nina Gregory, the heir to Gregory Hotels, over a life-changing few months when she learns her father is not everything she had…

Book Club Choices from LibraryReads: Author Debuts

February 13, 2019

Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction 2019

February 7, 2019

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction were announced at the RUSA Book and Media Awards event, sponsored by NoveList, during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle. The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, established in 2012, serve as a guide…

Very British Mystery

February 6, 2019

Who doesn’t love a mystery – especially one with a British setting? These books on our Very British Mystery list represent genres from police procedural to cozy, and settings from the rain slick streets of London to the green hills of the Cotswolds. We’ve invited the authors to tell us a bit about their books.…

Fresh Starts

January 28, 2019

The beginning of a new year is a time of fresh starts. If your book club has resolved to add mystery to its mix of reading, look no further. In each of these novels from the writers of Sisters in Crime, characters face challenges and make fresh starts, often in the face of danger, intrigue,…

February Picks from LibraryReads

January 28, 2019

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the February 2019 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides “Led on…

Sarah Smarsh with book cover: Heartland

SJP Pick Interview: Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

Annie Bostrom, associate editor in Adult Books at Booklist, interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye…

Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER