An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Book Club Girl Podcast: Laura Lippman

November 3, 2017

In this episode of Book Club Girl on Air, the New York Times bestselling author of What the Dead Know and After I’m Gone discusses her novel Wilde Lake, a modern twist on To Kill a Mockingbird. An African-American man accused of rape by a humiliated girl. A vengeful father. A courageous attorney. A worshipful daughter.…

Book Club Choices: The Mothers by Brit Bennett

November 2, 2017

This beautiful debut novel follows three young characters in an African-American community in Oceanside, Calif. They come together through a church that is ostensibly run by the church mothers, but who, in truth, represent the end of an era when manners and protocol shape behavior and choices. The new generation is represented by the beautiful…

Happy Halloween from Sisters In Crime

October 31, 2017

From cozy to hard-boiled, paranormal to present day, you’ll find the perfect mystery for Halloween reading on this list from the Sisters in Crime. The Fifth Petal by Brunonia Barry On Halloween night in 1989, three young women were murdered while attempting to consecrate the hanging site of their ancestors executed during Salem’s witch hysteria…

Happy Halloween from the Horror Writers Association

October 30, 2017

As a horror writer and the director of the Horror Writers Association’s (HWA) Library & Literacy Program, I can name a hundred spine-chilling books off the top of my head. But for book club recommendations, I decided to do a kind of mix-and-match of books from HWA members, to not only showcase the range of…

Book Club Choices: To the Stars Through Difficulties by Romalyn Tilghman

October 27, 2017

This novel, named for the Kansas state motto, reflects well what wom­en at the turn of the 20th century experienced in bringing Carn­egie libraries to their hometowns. The story is told in three voices—that of a re­searcher working on a Ph.D in library science and focusing on Carnegie li­braries, a troubled young woman who leaves…

SJP Read-Alikes: Mohsin Hamid’s Exit West

October 26, 2017

Exit West is an exquisite love story that subtly yet powerfully combines searing realism and psychological acuity with a touch of magic to illuminate the terrors of war and exile as well as the miracles of survival. Thoughtful and gentle Saeed and rebellious Nadia enter into a tenuous courtship as their unnamed Middle Eastern city…

The 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medals Shortlist Announced!

October 25, 2017

The American Library Association’s Andrew Carnegie Medals, now in their 7th year, recognize outstanding fiction and nonfiction for adult readers. See the shortlist titles below, selected from a longlist of 46 fiction and nonfiction titles published in 2017. The two medal winners, one in fiction and one in nonfiction, will be announced at the Reference…

Audio Alert! Step Into the Studio with Mohsin Hamid

October 24, 2017

Are you looking to invigorate your book club with some audio assets? Look no further! Mohsin Hamid, the talented New York Times bestselling author of Exit West, narrated his own audiobook and gave us insight into that unique experience in a great episode of Penguin Random House Audio’s This is the Author podcast. Join Hamid in the studio as he…

SJP Pick Author Interview: Mohsin Hamid

October 20, 2017

Donna Seaman, Booklist Adult Books Editor and co-chair of the SJP Picks selection committee, spoke with Mohsin Hamid recently about his book Exit West and its selection as the second SJP Pick. Seaman: Exit West offers a beautifully distilled and intimate perspective on complex global, geopolitical, and humanitarian crises. What inspired you to focus so…

Book Club Choices: Only Daughter

October 19, 2017

When a runaway living in fairly dire conditions sees a picture of a missing girl on television, she is stunned; the girl, Rebecca Winter, looks almost exactly like her. So, when she is later caught stealing food and is asked her name, she claims to be Rebecca. Amazingly, she gets away with it—it is, after…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER