An initiative of the American Library Association

SJP Picks

Award-winning actor, producer, designer, library supporter and avid reader Sarah Jessica Parker is the honorary chair for Book Club Central. In this role, Ms. Parker selects books throughout the year to share her joy of reading and discussing good books with readers everywhere.

Sarah Smarsh with book cover: Heartland

SJP Pick Interview: Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

Annie Bostrom, associate editor in Adult Books at Booklist, interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye…

SPONSORED CONTENT – NOVELIST

Novelist brocure: The Secret Language of Books

Confessions of a Book Club Addict

June 16, 2017

I’ve run three book clubs at one time. Sound like a foolish thing to do? Well, I’ve done it twice. And, trust me, you don’t do something that harebrained (twice) without help. The Book Clubs The first time I was in over my head, I was running my Romance Lovers Book Club, genteXt, a book…

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family…

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

December 6, 2018

The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia…

Book Club Choices: November Road by Lou Berney

November 6, 2018

This past summer there was a lot of looking back 50 years at the tumultuous summer of 1968. Lou Berney’s new novel provides a look into the American landscape that led to that social turmoil. November Road is set in 1963. In Dallas, President Kennedy has been assassinated by Lee Harvey Oswald. In New Orleans…

Book Club Choices: A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

October 23, 2018

Jodi Picoult does it again! In A Spark of Light, her latest novel, Picoult forces audiences to consider all aspects of a controversial topic. This time it is abortion, and the unlikely meeting of an array of diverse characters at a woman’s clinic, The Center, during a hostage crisis. The book begins at 5p.m. at…

Sarah Smarsh with book cover: Heartland

SJP Pick Interview: Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

Annie Bostrom, associate editor in Adult Books at Booklist, interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye…

Register for Booklist’s Presenting the 2019 Carnegie Shortlist Webinar

December 18, 2018

Join Carnegie Selection Committee members Annie Bostrom and Susan Maguire along with Booklist Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman for this free, hour-long conversation about the six books shortlisted for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction (Francisco Cantú’s The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, Kiese Laymon’s Heavy: An American Memoir,…

A Book Club Guide for To Kill a Mockingbird, the Great American Read

October 25, 2018

To Kill a Mockingbird was voted by viewers as America’s #1 best-loved novel in The Great American Read. One of the best-loved stories of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than forty million copies worldwide, served as the basis for an enormously popular motion picture,…

Announcing the Shortlist for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals

October 24, 2018

Six finalists, three fiction and three nonfiction, have been selected for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The two medal winners will be announced on January 27, 2019, at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards event at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER