An initiative of the American Library Association

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: The Doomsday Machine by Daniel Ellsberg

By Annie Bostrom and Donna Seaman

The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner by Daniel Ellsberg (Bloomsbury), is one of the most alarming books to appear in this altogether alarming time. Ellsberg’s revelations, both personal and professional, uncloak a litany of disregarded protocol, erroneous assumptions, and near misses pertaining to the start of the nuclear arms race, the buildup of the nuclear arsenal, and the control of nuclear weapons. The books below provide further illumination on this urgent subject.

Command and Control: Nuclear Weapons, the Damascus Accident, and the Illusion of Safety

by Eric Schlosser

Nuclear bombs must be handled with the proper care, yet that is not always the case, as Schlosser emphasizes in this detailed account of the accidental 1980 explosion of a Titan II missile after a dropped tool punctured its shell. Schlosser also offers an extensive look at nuclear-weapon design and further reporting of other cases of dropped, burned, or lost bombs.

Penguin, 2013.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

The Partnership: Five Cold Warriors and Their Quest to Ban the Bomb

by Philip Taubman

In 2007, four former Cold Warriors who helped build up the nation’s nuclear arsenal—Henry Kissinger and George Schultz (former secretaries of state), William Perry (former defense secretary), and Sam Nunn (former head of the Senate Armed Services Committee), joined by nuclear physicist Sidney Dell—stunned the world by advocating for the elimination of nuclear weapons. Taubman chronicles their journeys to advocating for nuclear disarmament and analyzes how the threats have multiplied and changed over the decades.

Harper, 2012.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

The Twilight of the Bombs: Recent Challenges, New Dangers, and the Prospects for a World without Nuclear Weapons

by Richard Rhodes

Each title in Rhodes’ invaluable nuclear series—The Making of the Atom Bomb (1986); Dark Sun: The Making of the Hydrogen Bomb (1995); Arsenals of Folly: The Making of the Nuclear Arms Race (2007); and this volume—are worthy read-alikes. Here Rhodes chronicles major developments in nuclear weaponry since the Cold War ended, and, guided by his conviction that the atomic bomb is so dire a hazard it must be abolished, he interviews politicians, diplomats, and technicians involved in nuclear disarmament.

Knopf, 2010.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Read the Booklist Review.

Annie Bostrom is Associate Editor, Adult Books, at Booklist. She is a cat person, but also really likes dogs. Follow her on Twitter at @Booklist_Annie.

Donna Seaman is Adult Books Editor for Booklist, a recipient of the Studs Terkel Humanities Service Award, a member of the Content Leadership Team for the American Writers Museum, and a frequent presenter at literary events and programs. Seaman’s new book is Identity Unknown: Rediscovering Seven American Women Artists.

17 Comments

  1. … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Information here to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  2. huong dan dang ky fun88 on October 14, 2019 at 11:40 pm

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  3. obra publica on October 17, 2019 at 8:33 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More here to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  4. ww88 on October 17, 2019 at 11:02 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Information on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  5. idrpokerq on October 22, 2019 at 12:33 pm

    … [Trackback]

    […] Here you will find 31042 more Info on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  6. Japanese old+young Femdom Teens on October 29, 2019 at 9:29 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More Information here to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  7. CBD gummies on October 31, 2019 at 4:20 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  8. cornhole bags on November 6, 2019 at 8:54 pm

    … [Trackback]

    […] Information on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  9. professional cornhole boards on November 7, 2019 at 12:07 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  10. i99bet on November 7, 2019 at 5:47 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Info here on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  11. fake tag heuer wholesale on November 7, 2019 at 7:32 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Info here on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  12. Tochka Market on November 7, 2019 at 5:19 pm

    … [Trackback]

    […] Info to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  13. Agartha Market Exit Scam on November 12, 2019 at 5:32 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More here to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  14. Darknet on November 13, 2019 at 10:26 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Info on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  15. … [Trackback]

    […] Find More to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  16. defense market research on November 14, 2019 at 12:00 am

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Info here to that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



  17. Sex toys on November 15, 2019 at 6:52 pm

    … [Trackback]

    […] There you can find 96467 more Info on that Topic: bookclubcentral.org/2018/01/05/carnegie-medal-shortlist-read-alikes-2018-doomsday-machine-daniel-ellsberg/ […]



JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER