An initiative of the American Library Association

April Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the April 2018 LibraryReads list!

Lost Roses

Lost Roses: A Novel

by Martha Hall Kelly

“The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and World War I. Highly recommended for book clubs and fans of Anthony Doerr, Susan Meissner, and Lauren Belfer.”

Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME

Ballantine Books, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Girl He Used to Know, The

The Girl He Used to Know

by Tracey Garvis Graves

“A college romance with an odd, quiet girl fades when she fails to follow him to New York after graduation as promised. Ten years later, a chance meeting in Chicago reunites them. An interesting story giving insight into the world of a high functioning autistic adult. For readers who enjoyed The Rosie Project.”

Virginia Holsten, Vinton Public Library, Vinton, IA

St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

Click to read an excerpt.

Invited, The - Copy

The Invited: A Novel

by Jennifer McMahon

“Nate and Helen leave their teaching jobs to build their dream home in rural Vermont. Helen begins seeing ghosts, and Nate becomes obsessed with a white doe. An unputdownable thriller about a house with a tragic past. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly and Attica Locke.”

Terri Smith, Cornelia Library, Mt. Airy, GA

Doubleday, 2019.

Click to read an excerpt.

Little Darlings

Little Darlings: A Novel

by Melanie Golding

“A creepy, beautifully written story about a new mother of twin boys who claims to have seen a strange creature who wants to steal her babies. Doctors and the police are dismissive. Then the unthinkable happens. For fans of modern myths, psychological suspense, and Fiona Barton.”

Amy Verkruissen, Calcasieu Parish Public Library, Lake Charles, LA

Crooked Lane Books, 2019.

Miracle Creek

Miracle Creek: A Novel

by Angie Kim

“When a medical treatment facility explodes, killing two people, the ensuing murder trial rocks the town while witnesses go to extremes to conceal their darkest secrets. Part family drama, part whodunit, Miracle Creek is a gripping debut. For fans of Celeste Ng and Liane Moriarty.”

Portia Kapraun, Delphi Public Library, Delphi, IN

Sarah Crichton Books, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

The Mother-In-Law

The Mother-In-Law: A Novel

by Sally Hepworth

Lucy hopes to have a good relationship with her husband Ollie’s mother, but Diana makes it difficult. When Diana is found dead of an apparent suicide, Lucy reexamines everything she knows about Diana and the rest of the family. For fans of The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand and The Lake House by Kate Morton.

Chris Markley, Kingsport Public Library, Kingsport, TN

St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

Click for a Discussion Guide.

Normal People

Normal People: A Novel

by Sally Rooney

“Follows the complicated relationship between Connell, a popular boy, and Marianne, a lonely and private girl, through their high school years and college. A great book club pick. For fans of Three Junes by Julia Glass and Idaho by Emily Ruskovich.”

Anbolyn Potter, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ

Hogarth, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Save Me the Plums

Save Me the Plums: My Gourmet Memoir

by Ruth Reichl

“Reichl’s captivating story about leaving her job as a New York Times restaurant critic to become Editor in Chief of Gourmet magazine. Her writing is as luscious as the food she critiques. For fans of Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain and My Life in France by Julia Child.

Katelyn Boyer, Fergus Falls Public Library, Fergus Falls, MN

Random House, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Southern Lady Code

Southern Lady Code: Essays

by Helen Ellis

“A funny, spot-on collection of essays on topics ranging from marriage and manners, three-ways, and how to be a good friend in the middle of a murder trial. For fans of You Play the Girl by Carina Chocano and Thick by Tressie McMillan Cottom.”

Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Doubleday, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Women Talking

Women Talking

by Miriam Toews

“In a modern-day Mennonite community, eight women surreptitiously gather in a barn to decide their future after learning the truth behind two years of sexual assaults committed by neighbors and family members. Their circuitous, swooping two-day conversation touches on faith, autonomy, duty, anger, and their hopes for their lives and those of their children in this compelling and haunting read. For fans of Lauren Groff.”

Andrea Gough, The Seattle Public Library, Seattle, WA

Bloomsbury, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER