An initiative of the American Library Association

May Picks from LibraryReads

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the May 2019 LibraryReads list!

Bride Test, The

The Bride Test

by Helen Hoang

“On the autism spectrum, Khai doesn’t feel anything for anyone. His mother recruits Esme, a young Vietnamese woman, to marry him. A realistic, humorous romance that reveals the slow path to love and a meaningful relationship. For those who loved The Kiss Quotient, The Rosie Project, and The Wedding Date.”

Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH

Berkley Jove, 2019.

Reading Guide

Author's Website.

The-Book-Woman-of-Troublesome-Creek-

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek: A Novel

by Kim Michele Richardson

“Blue-skinned Cussie brings books via horseback to rural, racially intolerant Kentucky in the 1930s. Her efforts demonstrate that people crave intellectual stimulation even when they are poverty stricken in a food desert. For fans of Sandra Dallas and Lee Smith.”

Courtenay Reece, Millville Public Library, Millville, NJ

Sourcebooks Landmark, 2019.

Farm, The

The Farm: A Novel

by Joanne Ramos

“What sounds like an easy way to make money while indulging in a spa-like oasis propels young pregnancy surrogates into ethically complex decisions, racial inequities, and new friendships. For those who loved The Handmaid’s Tale and Future Home of the Living God.”

Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

Random House, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Flatsharw, The

The Flatshare: A Novel

by Beth O’Leary

“In this entertaining and humorous romance, Tiffy and Leon share a flat, but have never met. Who says you can’t fall in love if your only communication has been through Post-It notes? For fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary and Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating.”

Kelly Moore, Carrollton Public Library, Carrollton, TX

Flatiron Books, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

How Not to Die Alone

How Not to Die Alone

by Richard Roper

“Andrew’s Council job is finding people to pay for funerals for the recently deceased, and he seems bound to a similar lonely destiny. When lively Peggy joins the staff, he begins to wonder if there’s more to life than model trains. Give to fans of Jojo Moyes, Nick Hornby, and Gail Honeyman.”

Jennifer Knight, North Olympic Public Library System, Port Angeles, Washington

G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Pride, Prejudice, and other flavors

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors: A Novel

by Sonali Dev

“Trisha Raje is a talented neurosurgeon, from an immigrant Indian family, descended from royalty. When she meets a patient’s brother we embark on a classic tale of enemies to lovers. With likable characters and an appealing story line, I highly recommend this book. For readers who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and The Wedding Party.”

Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY

William Morrow Paperbacks, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Red, White, Royal Blue

Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel

by Casey McQuiston

“First Son Alex Claremont-Diaz is in his last semester of university and has an antagonistic relationship with Prince Henry of Wales. But friendship and then love blossoms when they are forced to pretend to be buddies after an embarrassing altercation. For fans of a good rom-com.”

Nita Gill, Brookings Public Library, Brookings, SD

St. Martin’s Griffin, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Stella Fortuna

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna: A Novel

by Juliet Grames

“The life story of Italian-American Stella Fortuna is told through an interesting conceit: the times she nearly died. We follow her through an impoverished childhood in rural Italy, coming to America as a teenager, and finally wife, mother, and widow in suburban Connecticut. For fans of The Stars Are Fire and Daughter of Fortune.”

Celia Morse, Berkley Public Library, Berkley, MA

Ecco, 2019.

Storm Cursed

Storm Cursed

by Patricia Briggs

“Mercy Thompson has opened her garage again and is trying to get back to normal. Now that the Tri-Cities is neutral ground, all kinds of supernatural beings are heading her way. If you’re a Briggs fan, you’re going to love this book and look forward to the next. For fans of the Walker Papers and Weather Warden series.”

Helen Imre, Franklin Township Public Library, Somerset, NJ

Ace, 2019.

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Sunset Beach

Sunset Beach: A Novel

by Mary Kay Andrews

“After her mother’s death, Drue Campbell inherits her grandparent’s beach cottage in Sunset Beach, Florida where she takes a job with her estranged father who is married to her high school frenemy. For readers who enjoyed The Identicals and Life’s a Beach.”

Evelyn Janoch, Rocky River Public Library, Rocky River, OH

St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

Click to read an Excerpt.

Visit the Author's Website.

Middlegame

Middlegame

by Seanan McGuire

“McGuire’s standalone contemporary fantasy is a story of alchemy, mathematics, language, and two unforgettable twins. The complex story takes some time to get moving, but once it does this great, philosophically deep read becomes very difficult to put down.”

Angela Gaule Ector County Public Library, Odessa, TX

Tor.com, 2019.

Visit the Author's Website.

Stone Circle, The

The Stone Circle

by Elly Griffiths

“Forensic archaeologist Dr. Ruth Galloway is back puzzling out mysteries old and new in the English coastal region of Norfolk. Much appeal lies in revisiting Ruth’s delightful supporting cast of colleagues and friends. Because the book ties in with earlier installments, this is a series best read in order.”

Melissa Davidson, Staunton Public Library, Staunton, VA

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.

Visit the author's website.

the-unhoneymooners

The Unhoneymooners

by Christina Lauren

“Olive and Ethan are enemies brought together in classic rom-com style when the honeymoon plans of their siblings (who’ve just married) take a wrong turn. The dialogue is fantastic–no one mixes sweetness, snark, and hilarity so well. Perfect for readers of Jasmine Guillory or Emma Chase.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee Districy Library, Goodrich, MI

Gallery Books, 2019.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER