An initiative of the American Library Association

How To Book Club

Join First Look Book Club to Get Free Daily Excerpts

Wondering what the next great read will be? The next author that everyone will be talking about? Join First Look Book Club and discover them first! Sign up for the free email book club and receive daily excerpts from just published books, bringing you the best in Mystery, Suspense, Romance, Nonfiction, Literary Fiction, and more. It’s…

Read More

Exit West Downloadables

Looking for resources to promote Sarah Jessica Parker’s newest Book Club Central pick, Exit West by Mohsin Hamid? Look no further! Below, you’ll find banner ads and flyers that you can use to spread the word and help your patrons and book groups read with SJP. Read-with-SJP-Flyer-EXIT-WEST.pdf Link here: http://www.bookclubcentral.org/sjp-picks/ Link here: http://www.bookclubcentral.org/sjp-picks/ Link here: https://sweeps.penguinrandomhouse.com/enter/win-a-copy-of-sjps-newest-pick-exit-west…

Read More

Start an Online Book Club

Start an Online Book Club By Eugenia Williamson In 2011, Vee Signorelli started GayYA.org. While the site offered plenty of thought-provoking writing about LGBTQIA in young-adult literature, Signorelli felt something was missing. “There were very few ways for readers of LGBTQIA and YA to connect,” she says. “I thought starting a book club might be…

Read More

Be a Book Club Member

Be a Book Club Member By Neil Hollands Most people feel inadequate when they first join a book group. After all, the number of books you’ve read has very little bearing on how well you’re able to talk about them. The following tips will help you show grace under fire and become an invaluable member…

Read More

Support Groups for Book Discussion Leaders

A librarian walks into a bar, sits down, and puts her head in her hands. The bartender strolls over and asks, “Tough day at work? Your relationship headed south?” “Both!” answers the librarian. “Book club did not go well today; it did not go well at all . . .” Time to admit it—even if…

Read More

Troubleshoot a Book Club

Troubleshoot a Book Club By Neil Hollands Is your book club not running smoothly? Does it need a tune-up? In my years of moderating book clubs, I’ve learned that digression is the most prevalent problem. Interruptions can destroy the flow of discussion, create ill will between readers, and distract the group. Fear not: I’ve developed effective, tactful ways for book-group leaders…

Read More

Lead a Book Club

Lead a Book Club By Liz Kirchhoff You’ve elected—or have been elected—to lead a book club. Now what? Do Your Homework The best way to quell your nerves before your star turn is to thoroughly familiarize yourself with the material. Read the book and a few reviews as soon as you can. Give yourself as…

Read More

Find Books for a Book Club

Find Books for a Book Club By Kaite Stover There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they…

Read More

Find A Book Club

Find A Book Club By Sue Dittmar Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER