An initiative of the American Library Association

How To Book Club

Writers and Readers: Book Club Nation

By Stephanie Powell Watts One of the great honors of my life happened in 2017, when my debut novel, No One Is Coming to Save Us​, was selected as the inaugural pick for ALA’s Book Club Central by the honorary chair, Sarah Jessica Parker. I had learned about the selection weeks before the public announcement. I…

Read More

Author Jill Santopolo on Being a Book Club Guest

By Jill Santopolo I’ve always loved book clubs—the chance to get together and talk about how stories make you feel, what you think writers did well, the parts that make you want to throw the book across the room—they turn the solitary experience of reading into something communal. The longest-running book club I’ve been a…

Read More

A Mini Book Club Kit for Anatomy of a Miracle

Is your book club more visual? Do they like to follow along with the discussion? Check out this miniature book club kit for SJP’s newest pick that you can download and print for your entire book group. It’s a great way to get everyone involved in and excited about the discussion! Click to Download a…

Read More

Anatomy of a Miracle Downloadables

Looking for resources to promote Sarah Jessica Parker’s newest Book Club Central pick Anatomy of a Miracle by Jonathan Miles? Look no further! Below, you’ll find banner ads and flyers that you can use to spread the word and help your patrons and book groups read with SJP.

Read More

A Discussion Guide for Anatomy of a Miracle

Need guidance on what to discuss Anatomy of a Miracle with your book club? You’re in luck! Here, we’re featuring a reader’s guide to help you read with SJP and Book Club Central. 1. Anatomy of a Miracle opens as Tanya wheels her brother, Cameron, to their local convenience store, the Biz-E-Bee. This site is important to much of the novel’s action,…

Read More

Lead a Book Club

Lead a Book Club By Liz Kirchhoff You’ve elected—or have been elected—to lead a book club. Now what? Do Your Homework The best way to quell your nerves before your star turn is to thoroughly familiarize yourself with the material. Read the book and a few reviews as soon as you can. Give yourself as…

Read More

Find A Book Club

Find A Book Club By Sue Dittmar Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the…

Read More

Join First Look Book Club to Get Free Daily Excerpts

Wondering what the next great read will be? The next author that everyone will be talking about? Join First Look Book Club and discover them first! Sign up for the free email book club and receive daily excerpts from just published books, bringing you the best in Mystery, Suspense, Romance, Nonfiction, Literary Fiction, and more. It’s…

Read More

Exit West Downloadables

Looking for resources to promote Sarah Jessica Parker’s newest Book Club Central pick, Exit West by Mohsin Hamid? Look no further! Below, you’ll find banner ads and flyers that you can use to spread the word and help your patrons and book groups read with SJP. Read-with-SJP-Flyer-EXIT-WEST.pdf Link here: http://www.bookclubcentral.org/sjp-picks/ Link here: https://sweeps.penguinrandomhouse.com/enter/win-a-copy-of-sjps-newest-pick-exit-west Link here: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/549017/exit-west-by-mohsin-hamid/9780735212176/readers-guide/…

Read More

Start an Online Book Club

Start an Online Book Club By Eugenia Williamson In 2011, Vee Signorelli started GayYA.org. While the site offered plenty of thought-provoking writing about LGBTQIA in young-adult literature, Signorelli felt something was missing. “There were very few ways for readers of LGBTQIA and YA to connect,” she says. “I thought starting a book club might be…

Read More

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER