An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Sarah Smarsh with book cover: Heartland

SJP Pick Interview: Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

Annie Bostrom, associate editor in Adult Books at Booklist, interviewed Sarah Smarsh about her book Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth​ (2018), the sixth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. In Heartland, Smarsh recalls her Kansas youth while compiling her families’ histories and turning a journalist’s eye…

Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family…

Register for Booklist’s Presenting the 2019 Carnegie Shortlist Webinar

December 18, 2018

Join Carnegie Selection Committee members Annie Bostrom and Susan Maguire along with Booklist Adult Books Editor Donna Seaman for this free, hour-long conversation about the six books shortlisted for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction (Francisco Cantú’s The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border, Kiese Laymon’s Heavy: An American Memoir,…

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

December 6, 2018

The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia…

The 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites List

November 19, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites list! Educated by Tara Westover “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her…

Top 10 First Novels: 2018

November 15, 2018

Madness, maps, and music; poetry, war, and climate change; family and love in Syria, Iran, South Korea, London, Liberia, and Boston—these elements are found in the finest first novels reviewed in Booklist from November 1, 2017, through October 15, 2018. Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi In her mind-blowing first novel, Emezi portrays Ada, a young, mentally…

Book Club Choices: I’ll Be There for You: The One About ‘Friends’ by Kelsey Miller

November 13, 2018

Friends is having a silver anniversary in 2019; 25 years of 6 wacky 20-somethings living in (and somehow affording) New York City who are experiencing that special time of life when “your friends are your family.” Full disclosure: I didn’t start out watching Ross & Rachel & Monica & Chandler & Phoebe & Joey; like…

Who’s Hungry for Culinary Mysteries?

November 12, 2018

Food and books―the perfect combination! With the holidays on the horizon, why not find some culinary inspiration in these mysteries, all featuring deadly plots and delicious recipes. I’ve asked the authors to tell us a bit about their books below. Happy reading and bon appétit! The Tell-Tale Tarte by Maya Corrigan When café manager Val…

SJP Pick Author Interview: Wayétu Moore

November 7, 2018

Donna Seaman, Booklist Adult Books Editor, interviewed Wayétu Moore about her debut novel, She Would Be King, the fifth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central, and a highly imaginative tale rife with supernatural elements that illuminate the history of Liberia through the lives of three unusual characters. Seaman: In your author’s note for…

Book Club Choices: November Road by Lou Berney

November 6, 2018

This past summer there was a lot of looking back 50 years at the tumultuous summer of 1968. Lou Berney’s new novel provides a look into the American landscape that led to that social turmoil. November Road is set in 1963. In Dallas, President Kennedy has been assassinated by Lee Harvey Oswald. In New Orleans…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER