An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Celebrate National Friends of Libraries Week!

October 17, 2018

Friends of Libraries groups have their very own national week of celebration! United for Libraries will coordinate the 13th annual National Friends of Libraries Week Oct. 21-27, 2018. The celebration offers a two-fold opportunity to celebrate Friends. Use the time to creatively promote your group in the community, to raise awareness, and to promote membership.…

Things that Go Bump: Paranormal Mysteries

October 4, 2018

With its earlier sunsets, cooler temperatures, and pumpkin spice everything, autumn is the perfect time to curl up with a good mystery―especially a mystery with shades of the supernatural. Whether you’re in the mood for a lighthearted ghost story or a leave-the-lights-on tale of suspense, these books will cast a spell on your book club.…

The October 2018 LibraryReads List

October 2, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the October 2018 LibraryReads list! And introducing Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. Jodi Picoult’s A Spark of Light is the inaugural selection. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory “A disastrous…

SJP Read-Alikes: She Would Be King by Wayétu Moore

September 27, 2018

Wayétu Moore and her family fled Monrovia, the capital of Liberia, during the civil war in 1989 when Moore was five, a harrowing rupture that her father sought to ameliorate by telling stories full of magic. In her spellbinding debut novel, She Would Be King​, Moore continues that evocative filtering of life through the prism…

The Great American Read Returns on 9/11!

September 11, 2018

Meredith Vieira returns as the Great American Read hits high gear. You spent the summer reading and voting for your favorite novels, now tune in to see which books celebrities, authors, and other readers across the country are rooting for. Tune into PBS on September 11th at 8pm ET. Click to See What Books and…

A+ Academic Mysteries

September 6, 2018

Ah, September. Many consider this the beginning of the year, with so many returning to school to start the next chapter of their academic journey. What a busy time—especially when you add murder and mystery to the mix. These A+ mysteries will give you a peek inside those hallowed halls of academe, where things are…

Campaign Widows by Aimee Agresti

September 6, 2018

‘Tis the (election) season! Feeling a bit of political fatigue as we head into the 2018 elections? Book Clubbish has the perfect book club kit remedy for you. The West Wing meets Sex and the City in Aimee Agresti’s Campaign Widows [Graydon House], a wickedly sharp, wildly fun take on the Washington landscape. Follow the misadventures of the “widows,” an inner circle of DC elites…

The September 2018 LibraryReads List

September 4, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the September 2018 LibraryReads list! The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton “Imagine the movie Groundhog Day except this time Aiden Bishop wakes up each day in a deteriorating manor house, as a different person, and must work out who he is…

#AskaLibrarian Monthly Roundup: August

August 30, 2018

Every Thursday from 12-1pm ET readers can ask librarians for reading recommendations using #AskaLibrarian. It’s a great way to get new books ideas, and to suggest some of your favorite book club picks, as well. We’ve been joining in the fun by asking librarians for some great book club recommendations. This month, we asked for…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER