An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Sisters in Crime: Not the Usual Suspects

April 11, 2019

I adore police procedurals and stories of private investigators – the professionals who take down criminals in real life. But in fiction, anyone can be a sleuth. Are you looking for a different kind of crime solver? Sisters in Crime has you covered. I’ve asked these crime writers to introduce us to their amateur sleuths.…

April Picks from LibraryReads

April 4, 2019

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the April 2018 LibraryReads list! Lost Roses: A Novel by Martha Hall Kelly “The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and…

Sisters In Crime: Pets on the Case

March 1, 2019

Animals and mystery have gone together ever since Sherlock Holmes and the Hound of the Baskervilles. These books from the writers of Sisters in Crime prove that pets can indeed be man’s best friend, especially in the face of murder, crime, and danger. Paw Enforcement by Diane Kelly Officer Luz is lucky she still has…

March Picks from LibraryReads

February 28, 2019

Librarians around the country have voted these titles as the March 2019

Very British Mystery

February 6, 2019

Who doesn’t love a mystery – especially one with a British setting? These books on our Very British Mystery list represent genres from police procedural to cozy, and settings from the rain slick streets of London to the green hills of the Cotswolds. We’ve invited the authors to tell us a bit about their books.…

Fresh Starts

January 28, 2019

The beginning of a new year is a time of fresh starts. If your book club has resolved to add mystery to its mix of reading, look no further. In each of these novels from the writers of Sisters in Crime, characters face challenges and make fresh starts, often in the face of danger, intrigue,…

February Picks from LibraryReads

January 28, 2019

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the February 2019 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides “Led on…

Book covers: Heartland, Educated, Hillbilly Elegy, and Maid

SJP Read-Alikes: Heartland by Sarah Smarsh

January 19, 2019

As a journalist, Sarah Smarsh, a “fifth-generation Kansas farm kid,” has reported on class, rural America, and economic inequality. In her memoir, Heartland: A Memoir of Working Hard and Being Broke in the Richest Country on Earth, the first nonfiction SJP pick, Smarsh recalls her 1980s Midwestern upbringing and relays the stories of the family…

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

December 6, 2018

The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia…

The 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites List

November 19, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites list! Educated by Tara Westover “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER