An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 2

April 18, 2018

Here is part 2 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist‘s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. Dragonfish by Vu Tran A stretch…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 1

April 12, 2018

Is your book group in a rut? Are folks sick of reading World War II-era historical fiction? Is your attendance dwindling? Maybe it’s time to go rogue. Booklist hosted a live event (sponsored by NoveList) where we gathered some book-group experts to talk about what makes a good selection, how to pick something unexpected for…

Sleuths in the Stacks

April 11, 2018

In honor of National Library Week, April 8-14, we celebrate books with a library connection—either set in libraries or with a librarian detective. Who better to solve a mystery than a librarian? Tech savvy, expert researchers with a broad knowledge base and the world’s information at their fingertips, these librarians follow deviously difficult clues that…

SJP Read-Alikes: Jonathan Miles’ Anatomy of a Miracle

March 27, 2018

As an intrepid journalist, Jonathan Miles has covered a lively array of topics, including bar fights in rural American taverns, and he authored the “Shaken and Stirred” column for the New York Times. Sharp humor and a worldly-wise perspective shape Miles’ fiction. In his first novel, Dear American Airlines (2008), a failed poet is stranded…

2018 Reading List: The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson

March 7, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson (William Morrow, 2017) was selected as the winner of the Women’s Fiction category. In The Almost Sisters, Geeky Leia is pregnant after…

March Mysteries with an Irish Connection

March 6, 2018

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, these March mysteries each have a connection to the Emerald Isle—books set in Ireland, featuring Irish characters, or their descendants in the US. If you’re in the mood for a mystery to go along with your corned beef and cabbage, try one of these reads—they promise more twists and…

2018 Reading List: The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi

March 5, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi (Tor, 2017) was selected as the winner of the Science Fiction category. In the Interdependency, each planet relies on its far-flung neighbors…

2018 Reading List: An Extraordinary Union by Alyssa Cole

March 2, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers.

2018 Reading List: The Dime by Kathleen Kent

February 28, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers. The Dime by Kathleen Kent (Mulholland Books, 2017) was selected as the winner of the Mystery category. In The Dime, Dallas detective Betty Rhyzyk comes from a family…

2018 Reading List: Kill Creek by Scott Thomas

February 26, 2018

At ALA Midwinter, the Reading List Council announced the 2018 selections of the Reading List, an annual best-of list comprising eight different fiction genres for adult readers.

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER