An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Warm Up with These Holiday Mysteries

December 6, 2018

The holidays are a joyful time but it’s easy to get overwhelmed by a never ending to-do list. Give yourself the gift of a few hours of escape, accompanied by a cup of hot cocoa and one of these entertaining holiday mysteries from the authors of Sisters in Crime. The Darling Dahlias and the Poinsettia…

The 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites List

November 19, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the 2018 LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites list! Educated by Tara Westover “In her memoir, Westover recounts her childhood growing up in a strict Mormon family, ruled by an erratic father, and living off the grid in Idaho. Westover compellingly sketches her years growing up, her…

Top 10 First Novels: 2018

November 15, 2018

Madness, maps, and music; poetry, war, and climate change; family and love in Syria, Iran, South Korea, London, Liberia, and Boston—these elements are found in the finest first novels reviewed in Booklist from November 1, 2017, through October 15, 2018. Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi In her mind-blowing first novel, Emezi portrays Ada, a young, mentally…

Who’s Hungry for Culinary Mysteries?

November 12, 2018

Food and books―the perfect combination! With the holidays on the horizon, why not find some culinary inspiration in these mysteries, all featuring deadly plots and delicious recipes. I’ve asked the authors to tell us a bit about their books below. Happy reading and bon appétit! The Tell-Tale Tarte by Maya Corrigan When café manager Val…

The November 2018 LibraryReads List

November 1, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the November 2018 LibraryReads list! And don’t miss the titles selected for Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. This month’s selections were: Elizabeth Berg’s Night of Miracles, Lee Child’s Past…

#AskaLibrarian Monthly Roundup: October

October 30, 2018

Every Thursday from 12-1pm ET readers can ask librarians for reading recommendations using #AskaLibrarian. It’s a great way to get new books ideas, and to suggest some of your favorite book club picks, as well. We’ve been joining in the fun by asking librarians for some great book club recommendations. This month, we asked for…

Announcing the Shortlist for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals

October 24, 2018

Six finalists, three fiction and three nonfiction, have been selected for the 2019 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The two medal winners will be announced on January 27, 2019, at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards event at the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in…

Things that Go Bump: Paranormal Mysteries

October 4, 2018

With its earlier sunsets, cooler temperatures, and pumpkin spice everything, autumn is the perfect time to curl up with a good mystery―especially a mystery with shades of the supernatural. Whether you’re in the mood for a lighthearted ghost story or a leave-the-lights-on tale of suspense, these books will cast a spell on your book club.…

The October 2018 LibraryReads List

October 2, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the October 2018 LibraryReads list! And introducing Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. Jodi Picoult’s A Spark of Light is the inaugural selection. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory “A disastrous…

SJP Read-Alikes: She Would Be King by Wayétu Moore

September 27, 2018

Wayétu Moore and her family fled Monrovia, the capital of Liberia, during the civil war in 1989 when Moore was five, a harrowing rupture that her father sought to ameliorate by telling stories full of magic. In her spellbinding debut novel, She Would Be King​, Moore continues that evocative filtering of life through the prism…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER