An initiative of the American Library Association

Book Lists

Mysteries That Make You Laugh

June 4, 2018

Many book clubs choose novels that deal with serious issues, grappling with strong emotions and the darkness of the human heart. After several books like this, though, sometimes you need a break. You need something lighter, something fun. That’s why I’ve asked these authors to tell us a bit about their humorous mysteries. Wouldn’t a…

Join Our Summer Reading Challenge and Be Entered for a Chance to Win!

May 22, 2018

Read one of Sarah Jessica Parker’s Book Club Central selections with your book club this summer and enter for your chance to win a prize pack of Book Club Central swag and a collection of books that SJP has recommended on her Instagram! To enter, take a picture of your book club with the SJP…

Newspaper Tales for the Book Club that Loved The Post

May 15, 2018

by Karen Kleckner Keefe Sometimes the juiciest bits of the news are the stories behind the story. These nonfiction titles are perfect for the book clubs who enjoyed the Oscar-nominated film The Post and want more stories where journalists take center stage. Personal History by Katherine Graham As seen in the new movie The Post,…

Not the Usual Suspects

May 9, 2018

Looking for a mystery that’s not the same old, same old? We’ve got you covered. Try one of these novels with some of the most compelling and unusual detectives in crime fiction. The Saints of the Lost and Found by T. M. Causey Avery Broussard is the most unusual of protagonists, a young woman who…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 4

May 2, 2018

And finally, here is part 4 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist’s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. The Opposite of Loneliness…

The May 2018 LibraryReads List

May 1, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the May 2018 LibraryReads list! Furyborn by Claire Legrand “Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 3

April 25, 2018

Here is part 3 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist‘s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. If I Was Your Girl by…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 2

April 18, 2018

Here is part 2 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist‘s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. Dragonfish by Vu Tran A stretch…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 1

April 12, 2018

Is your book group in a rut? Are folks sick of reading World War II-era historical fiction? Is your attendance dwindling? Maybe it’s time to go rogue. Booklist hosted a live event (sponsored by NoveList) where we gathered some book-group experts to talk about what makes a good selection, how to pick something unexpected for…

Sleuths in the Stacks

April 11, 2018

In honor of National Library Week, April 8-14, we celebrate books with a library connection—either set in libraries or with a librarian detective. Who better to solve a mystery than a librarian? Tech savvy, expert researchers with a broad knowledge base and the world’s information at their fingertips, these librarians follow deviously difficult clues that…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER