An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Jonathan Miles Shares What Book Clubs Should Discuss After Reading Anatomy of a Miracle!

May 16, 2018

At American Library Association’s 2018 Midwinter conference in Denver, Jonathan Miles discussed what he thought book clubs should talk about after reading Anatomy of a Miracle, a Sarah Jessica Parker selection for Book Club Central. Watch the video below to hear what he has to say and get your book discussion going! Click to Watch Jonathan…

Newspaper Tales for the Book Club that Loved The Post

May 15, 2018

by Karen Kleckner Keefe Sometimes the juiciest bits of the news are the stories behind the story. These nonfiction titles are perfect for the book clubs who enjoyed the Oscar-nominated film The Post and want more stories where journalists take center stage. Personal History by Katherine Graham As seen in the new movie The Post,…

Book Club Choices: Circling the Sun by Paula McLain

May 10, 2018

This fictional biography is an exceptional read about an exceptional person. Beryl Markham, of British descent, spent most of her life in Kenya from 1904 to 1936. Brought there when she was a young girl so her father could establish a ranch and horse breeding operation, she spent her early years among the Kipsigis, a…

Not the Usual Suspects

May 9, 2018

Looking for a mystery that’s not the same old, same old? We’ve got you covered. Try one of these novels with some of the most compelling and unusual detectives in crime fiction. The Saints of the Lost and Found by T. M. Causey Avery Broussard is the most unusual of protagonists, a young woman who…

Enter for a Chance to Win a Copy of A PLACE FOR US by Fatima Farheen Mirza

May 8, 2018

“To be taken hostage by Fatima Farheen Mirza’s heartrending and timely story is a gutting pleasure. It allows her reader to better understand what it means to reconcile one’s love of family and culture with a desire to find one’s own path, and one’s own faith. Ms. Mirza painstakingly details the life of an Indian…

Book Club Choices: Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemade

May 3, 2018

Rachel, age 4, and her brother Sam live with their parents in a tenement in New York. When her mother learns that her husband has gotten a young girl pregnant, she tries to attack him with a kitchen knife. In the violent struggle, the mother is killed and the father, knowing what’s in store for…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 4

May 2, 2018

And finally, here is part 4 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist’s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. The Opposite of Loneliness…

The May 2018 LibraryReads List

May 1, 2018

Librarians around the country have voted these 10 titles as the May 2018 LibraryReads list! Furyborn by Claire Legrand “Fierce, independent women full of rage, determination, and fire. The first novel in the Empirium trilogy holds appeal for both young adult and adult readers. For fans of Game of Thrones, Once Upon a Time, and…

Book Club Choices: Kitchens of the Great Midwest by J. Ryan Stradal

April 26, 2018

In this touching and hilarious book we grow up with Eva Thorvald, who is essentially orphaned at 3 months when her father dies and her mother, deciding she doesn’t want to be one, departs for Australia. Her parents, when alive and present, were food enthusiasts. Her father was a noted chef, her mother a sommelier.…

Rogue Book Group Choices, Part 3

April 25, 2018

Here is part 3 of the list of rogue book group choices for when your book club feels like it’s stuck in a rut. These selections are from Booklist‘s live event (sponsored by NoveList) with book group experts, and you can watch the full video of the event here. If I Was Your Girl by…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER