An initiative of the American Library Association

Find Books For Clubs

Instagram Book Recommendations from SJP in 2017

January 23, 2018

While you’re waiting for Sarah Jessica Parker’s next official Book Club Central pick, here are just some of the books she recommended on her Instagram in 2017. Enjoy! The Nix by Nathan Hill From the suburban Midwest to New York City to the 1968 riots that rocked Chicago and beyond, The Nix explores—with sharp humor and a fierce…

Stephanie Powell Watts Wins an NAACP Image Award for No One Is Coming to Save Us!

January 19, 2018

Congratulations to Stephanie Powell Watts for winning an NAACP Image Award for Debut Author for No One Is Coming to Save Us, Sarah Jessica Parker’s first Book Club Central selection! No One Is Coming to Save Us is a revelatory debut from an insightful voice: with echoes of The Great Gatsby it is an arresting and powerful novel…

Book Club Choices: 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl

January 18, 2018

It’s no secret that we have a very real problem with body image in our society—being overweight certainly among the worst. This novel is a dark and often funny look at what it’s like growing up fat. In a collection of inter-related stories about Elizabeth/Beth/Lizzy/Liz, we get a very clear insight into how an extremely…

A Reading List for Showtime’s The Chi

January 16, 2018

The Chi, a new drama series created by Lena Waithe and produced by Common, is a coming-of-age drama set on Chicago’s South Side. Most striking about the show is the range of characters it contains: while they span age groups and economic strata, all are interconnected in ways that are both touching and surprising. Here…

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

January 16, 2018

Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward (Scribner), tells the story of 13-year-old Jojo as his drug-addicted mom, Leonie, leads him and his baby sister on a lurching odyssey across the state of Mississippi to retrieve their father from prison. As Jojo, Leonie, and Leonie’s father narrate from alternating perspectives, Ward conjures the ghosts that some…

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

January 15, 2018

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (Random House), was inspired by President Lincoln’s mournful visits to the cemetery after his young son’s death. The novels below also take imaginative approaches to Lincoln, a genuine leader and a figure of integrity, conscience, courage, and eloquence who defines so many of America’s direst conflicts, along with…

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

January 12, 2018

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan (Scribner) is a many-faceted historical novel set on New York City’s 1930s and ’40s waterfront and encompassing a family drama; gangsters; innovations at the Brooklyn Naval Yard; a shipwreck in U-boat-infested waters; and the story of an independent, unconventional woman. The insightful and imaginative novels below also set the adventures…

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann

January 11, 2018

Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann (Doubleday), immerses readers in a devastating episode in U.S. history in which dozens of members of the Osage Indian Nation were systematically murdered for their oil wealth. Grann is dazzling in his painstaking research and skillfully constructed narrative,…

SJP Read-Alikes: Ayobami Adebayo’s Stay with Me

January 9, 2018

Carnegie Medal Shortlist Read-alikes, 2018: The Doomsday Machine by Daniel Ellsberg

January 5, 2018

The Doomsday Machine: Confessions of a Nuclear War Planner by Daniel Ellsberg (Bloomsbury), is one of the most alarming books to appear in this altogether alarming time. Ellsberg’s revelations, both personal and professional, uncloak a litany of disregarded protocol, erroneous assumptions, and near misses pertaining to the start of the nuclear arms race, the buildup…

HOW TO BOOK CLUB

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER