An initiative of the American Library Association

How to Book Club

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Troubleshoot a Book Club

Is your book club not running smoothly? Does it need a tune-up? In my years of moderating book clubs, I’ve learned that digression is the most prevalent problem. Interruptions can destroy the flow of discussion, create ill will between readers, and distract the group. Fear not: I’ve developed effective, tactful ways for book-group leaders to identify the source of interruptions and…

Be a Book Club Member

Most people feel inadequate when they first join a book group. After all, the number of books you’ve read has very little bearing on how well you’re able to talk about them. The following tips will help you show grace under fire and become an invaluable member of your book club. Read the Book and…

Start an Online Book Club

In 2011, Vee Signorelli started GayYA.org. While the site offered plenty of thought-provoking writing about LGBTQIA in young-adult literature, Signorelli felt something was missing. “There were very few ways for readers of LGBTQIA and YA to connect,” she says. “I thought starting a book club might be a fun way to fix that!” To fill…

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

Lead a Book Club

You’ve elected—or have been elected—to lead a book club. Now what? Do Your Homework The best way to quell your nerves before your star turn is to thoroughly familiarize yourself with the material. Read the book and a few reviews as soon as you can. Give yourself as much time as possible to think about…

FIND BOOKS FOR CLUBS

Normal People By Sally Rooney

May 15, 2019

Opposites attract. In Carricklea, a small town in the west of Ireland, Connell and Marianne are both good students. That seems to be all they have in common. Connell is athletic and popular. Marianne is prickly, trying to be a Bohemian intellectual. He is from a single-parent household. There’s not much money but there is…

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

May 13, 2019

In the early-to-mid-1970s, American pop music entered a drowsy period of prog/glam/folk/soft-rock and heavy metal, a spell only sporadically broken until the arrival of punk and disco. Into this specific historical moment of musical malaise Taylor Jenkins Reid has sent her winsome and supercharged rock diva Daisy Jones to make the guitar boys drool and…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER