An initiative of the American Library Association

How to Book Club

Find A Book Club

Joining a book club can seem impossible if you don’t know where to look but you’ll find like-minded book lovers at the following tried-and-tested places. BOOK CLUBS IRL The Library Always the best place for aspiring book clubbers to start. Head to the reference desk and ask the person there about book clubs she’s sure…

Find Books for a Book Club

There’s a question I always ask whenever I visit a book club: “What’s the best book you’ve ever discussed?” This is a surefire way to start a lively discussion, one that always begins with the books the group has enjoyed and inevitably transitions to those they haven’t. Eventually, the group will conclude that the best…

Lead a Book Club

You’ve elected—or have been elected—to lead a book club. Now what? Do Your Homework The best way to quell your nerves before your star turn is to thoroughly familiarize yourself with the material. Read the book and a few reviews as soon as you can. Give yourself as much time as possible to think about…

Troubleshoot a Book Club

Is your book club not running smoothly? Does it need a tune-up? In my years of moderating book clubs, I’ve learned that digression is the most prevalent problem. Interruptions can destroy the flow of discussion, create ill will between readers, and distract the group. Fear not: I’ve developed effective, tactful ways for book-group leaders to identify the source of interruptions and…

Be a Book Club Member

Most people feel inadequate when they first join a book group. After all, the number of books you’ve read has very little bearing on how well you’re able to talk about them. The following tips will help you show grace under fire and become an invaluable member of your book club. Read the Book and…

Start an Online Book Club

In 2011, Vee Signorelli started GayYA.org. While the site offered plenty of thought-provoking writing about LGBTQIA in young-adult literature, Signorelli felt something was missing. “There were very few ways for readers of LGBTQIA and YA to connect,” she says. “I thought starting a book club might be a fun way to fix that!” To fill…

FIND BOOKS FOR CLUBS

Screenshot from HBO series The Deuce

Nonfiction Starter Pack: THE DEUCE

September 19, 2017

The Deuce premiered on HBO two weeks ahead of schedule. In its first episode, David Simon’s series-length paean to Times Square recreated 70s New York in all its grimy glory, with an ensemble of prostitutes, pimps, gamblers, cops, and James Franco, who plays twins. The show has done nothing to change my opinion that the 70s were…

Book covers: A Man Called Ove, Evicted, The Nest, To the Bright Edge of the World, Hidden Figures

Good Books for Book Groups: Bring Your Own Book

August 17, 2017

Every year, area clubs invariably ask us to suggest short books for holiday reading. There are many such titles, of course, but it can be hard, at this time of year, for members to get copies of holiday titles when they need them. But there are ways to work around the holiday crush. Some book clubs in our area have each…

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

JOIN THE CLUB!

Sign up to receive Book Club Central reviews, author interviews, and SJP Picks.

SPONSORING PARTNERS

CORPORATE PLATINUM PARTNER